A sustainable concrete for the future building industry.

We utilize industrial by-products to make geopolymer concrete, reducing carbon emissions by more than 70%.

Saferock image

We aim to reach net-zero carbon emissions by 2025.

Globally industrial processes generate vast amounts of various residues with untapped potential. Our patented technology gives new value to these unutilized by-products.

At the same time, conventional concrete (based on OPC*) is the main construction material used on earth. As of today, OPC production is responsible for 6-8% of all human-made global carbon emissions.

*OPC: Ordinary Portland Cement.

We want to accelerate the world's transition to sustainable building materials.

Led by pioneers in the construction and materials technology industry, we bridge state-of-the-art research results with industry needs and opportunities.

Saferock image

Our multiplex solution is based on on-site production, eliminating both transport emissions and -time. This provides a unique opportunity where mining waste has previously posed an environmental threat.

In the future we aim for our technology and materials to be part of a circular ecosystem.

This will truly impact the industry's environmental footprint.

The gap between material science and actual construction can be wide. We prove that the shift is already in motion.

We aim to have our first pilot plant in operation by the end of 2021.

Saferock image

The beginning

Video placeholder

We are driven by science and research, collaborating closely with University of Stavanger.

Our publications

Follow our progress

Our people

  • Espen Lea

    Chief Executive Officer

    +47 900 90 588

    espen.lea@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Nazila Engarnevis

    Research Scientist / CCUS

    +47 939 39 510

    nazila@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Kjell Tore Fosså

    Senior Advisor Concrete Technology

    +47 464 02 403

    kjell@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Ole Garborg Østrem

    Manager Product Development

    +47 476 00 062

    ole@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Mahmoud Khalifeh

    Chief Research Officer

    +47 471 51 930

    mahmoud.khalifeh@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Aril Saasen

    Senior Advisor

    +47 907 39 941

    arild.saasen@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Ketil Svinning

    Senior Advisor Quality Assurance

    +47 958 47 103

    ketil.svinning@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Ida Marie Gabrielsen

    Research Scientist

    +47 915 19 055

    ida@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Pedram Gargari

    Research Assistant

    pedram.gargari@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Torbjørn Vrålstad

    Senior Research Scientist

    Starts Dec.1st.

  • Inger Lise Alsvik

    Research Scientist

    +47 924 52 120

    inger.lise.alsvik@saferock.no

    LinkedIn
  • Stian Alessandro Ekkernes Rossi

    Starts 01.01.22

Work with us

Join us in creating a sustainable concrete for the future building industry.